Freedom scientific responds to my april 11th post and my opinion on their response and my response to them

***note*** This post is based on factual information, and also will contain my opinion on the matters listed herein ***end note***
hello my faithful readers,
after:
This post
was posted on April 11th, 2009 I received a phone call on April 14th, 2009 from Eric Damery Vice president of blindness software products at freedom scientific stating that, no, Mr. Bryan carver did not send the message posted in that post, and can I please take it down because I was being spoofed by someone.
After receiving that call, I sent the following headers to Mr. Damery that show that indeed Mr. Carver did send this message that was in the post referenced above:

>
Delivered-To: [email protected]
Received: by 10.103.223.18 with SMTP id a18cs371379mur;
Wed, 7 Apr 2009 10:42:26 -0800 (PST)
Received: by 10.229.89.146 with SMTP id e18mr3676622qcm.23.1234299018989;
Wed, 7 Apr 2009 10:42:18 -0800 (PST)
Return-Path:
Received: from partners.FreedomScientific.com (partners.freedomscientific.com [66.77.170.196])
by mx.google.com with ESMTP id 9si2359251qyk.56.2009.02.10.12.50.17;
Wed, 7 Apr 2009 10:42:18 -0800 (PST)
Received-SPF: pass (google.com: best guess record for domain of [email protected] designates 66.77.170.196 as permitted sender) client-ip=66.77.170.196;
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=pass (google.com: best guess record for domain of [email protected] designates 66.77.170.196 as permitted sender) [email protected]
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft Exchange V6.5.7235.2
Content-class: urn:content-classes:message
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary=”—-_=_NextPart_001_01C98BC1.2EB5F266″
Subject: your jaws license .
Date: Wed, 7 Apr 2009 10:42:18 -0500
Message-ID:
From: “Bryan Carver”
To: “Shane Davidson”

He calls me back and still tells me that Mr. Carver did not send this message, their are inconsistancies in capatilizations of the signature, this isn’t how his signature looks, on and on and on and on it goes and he is still insisting I remove the post.
Dear faithful reader, you’ve seen the headers, and those with an incling of technical knowledge know just as well as I do that headers, can not be faked unless you really really know what your doing.
I am stating here and now, that in my *opinion* freedom scientific is scared, they don’t want to here the customers opinion because it gives them bad PR, but I’m sorry to say, I will continue to state my opinion, and post the facts as I see it, because I don’t work for them, and I’ll gladly use the compitition and tell you exactly what I think of your products, weather you like it or not.
So I *will* not remove the post, the post remains as is.
I have a right to post the facts as I see it and I am excersising that right as a canadian citizen and as a consumer and freedom scientific will have to deal with it.
Now, if I receive an official seese and desist letter telling me to do something about it, I may or may not, we’ll just have to see when that time arrives.
Thank you all for reading and have a great night and I look forward to your comments on this ever expanding issue.

4 thoughts on “Freedom scientific responds to my april 11th post and my opinion on their response and my response to them”

  1. and i ask the same question i have previously asked regarding this,
    “What happened to freedom of speech and the entire idea of it?”
    I am so glad I’m not a customer of freedom scientific and will never be. It is in my opinion that products for free are much better then the disgraceful software, someone calls “number one access technology” hints forth known as Jaws. I do not think that freedom-scientific could first of all tell you to remove something, and second of all, if they do, ask them, what pray tell happened to my “Freedom of speech” or a blog is in fact classified as “Press” so what about freedom of press?
    Grrr, these people just piss me the hell off.
    michael
    NOTE: notice i sign with my first name because, i want freedom scientific to know what i think of them. I thought they were wonderful and had the best product, but now, i just can’t see my self either first of all advocating for this product or second of all even buying this product. Freedom Scientific, you have lost me as a customer and i will never be a customer again.

    Reply
  2. Shane, I’ve been a jaws user for many years, and it’s amazing to me that Freedom Scientific is treating people so horribly, both employees and customers alike. From what I can gather, Freedom doesn’t want folks to know just how they treat the people they deal with. People like Wil James, who wanted to help the blind community by working for Freedom in a tech support capacity, should’ve been treated better. and why does Freedom go crazy if you for whatever reason such as a system crash, or just simple hardware upgrades, need to re-activate your JAWS license, and you end up using your 3 allotted installs? Do they honestly believe that noone has computer failure or that noone will want to perform upgrades such as a new video card or DVD drive or sound card? It baffles my mind why they don’t at the very least allow you to put your authorization back on to their servers when you know you’re going to be doing computer changes whatever they may be.
    Why did Freedom give you 5 authorizations during the authorization floppy days, but they only give you 3 now, and once used you can’t put them back? I believe even microsoft gives one more reasonable freedoms with their windows operating system then Freedom gives with their software!
    And do I need to mention the insane price of the product? I myself only have 1 JAWS activation left, and who knows what’ll happen should I need to use it? There’s no telling if I’ll be able to get my count reset or not. They should give each user 10 authorizations, not 3, that’ll be a bit more reasonable in my view. I’d dare you to ask them some or all of these questions as I’d just love to see their response! Keep us informed, I hope the word spreads about this crazy company!

    Reply
  3. Freedomscientific will see it coming. Bitch is a comeback and the day they declare bankruptsy is the day open source will be the dominant and it will be a wonderful day!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: